My Autumn Mandate

So I’ve been driving my housemate a little round the bend this Autumn by saying this:

“Winter is coming.”

Now I don’t mean it as a Game of Thrones reference but as a literal point. Winter is coming. It’s coming and Autumn is the last season to prepare before it happens. So why bring this up? Was there any reason today? Well, I don’t do seasonal things. I don’t really listen to the weather. I normally prepare for Winter by buying as many warm clothes as possible and holing myself up in my room. However, I’ve got responsibilities. I have a degree and I hope to get a job. I don’t move forward nor engage with my responsibilities by holing up in my room because it’s too cold.

So this time round, I’m doing things a little differently. First off, I’ve looked and my old Winter kit is mostly not there. I don’t have nearly enough long johns but I do have vests and socks. The trouble is, I need the long johns for this to work.

My Winter kit consists of:

One pair of underwear
One pair of long johns
One vest, tucked into the long johns
One pair of socks, worn over the long johns

That has kept me warm for ages. Normally I wear thick trousers for my legs and a set of 2-3 layers for my chest. However, it creates a massive build up of laundry very fast. So I’ve been looking at changes. Now for me, most of the worst experiences I’ve had with cold comes from a large gust of wind blowing it in my direction. Cold wind is the worst. It’s worse than cold air and on some days it’s relentless. I need something that is wind proof or acts as a windbreaker. Not for my chest. The numerous amount of layers or my jacket or my raincoat are enough. It’s my legs. When wind hits my legs, my calves and my quadriceps feel it the worst. They feel freezing and I feel really cold. Most of my body is my legs so it’s not a surprise to me that they get affected the most.

Another way to keep warm is to wear woollen clothes. However, they can be expensive when bought so I’ve been thinking of knitting my own sweatshirts. I haven’t bought any proper wool yet because I don’t know how to knit, however I do have a pair of knitting needles I got from a charity shop for 50p. I’ve been looking at designs and I think a dark red one would be nice in the cold.

Also, a fact I should mention. I haven’t really ever properly ironed clothes, let alone my own. I’m about to start once I finish this post. I’m rambling. I’ve had a busy week and just when I thought this next week wouldn’t be busy either, it becomes busy. I might have a potential Saturday job, I need to fill out the paperwork for my interview to work at the Royal Mail, I have to arrange a cheap haircut because my hair is far too long, I have to visit the Imperial War Museum, The National Archives and the National Pigeon Racing Association by Wednesday so I can plot my final ideas to present for the crit on Thursday and I have a friend coming over tomorrow around the same time my bookshelf is meant to be arriving, not to mention that I have to get my room clean in time for Winter. If my room is messy, I get too lazy to even muster the energy to leave my room let alone the house. It doesn’t help that we have wooden floors so it will be really really cold.

Okay, mega rant and rambling and whining and complaining over. I wanted to start this post talking about Halloween but left it to the end of the post. Halloween is nearly on my doorstep and I haven’t got a decent sized pumpkin ready to carve. If anyone knows any good pumpkin recipes, please share, I would love to know some!

Ta.

Leave a comment